She wrote to me telling me it’s help she needs,
She said that she cries every night and she’s weak,
I told her you just gotta try to breathe,
She said I can’t cope anymore…
And now I just bleed.

Why does everyone look so damn perfect,
I’m fifteen and I feel really worthless,
My skin doesn’t look so clean,
When I’ve got these freckles covering me,
I wanna look like Katy Perry,
Maybe Rihanna or Halle Berry,
Beyonce never had problems like me,
Bet she never felt so fat and ugly
I wanna be skinny but I get so hungry,
Got bad pains inside of my tummy,
There’s a guy in school that I hope might notice me,
But he never really does.
So I’m trynna get thin so he looks my way and he falls in love,
Until then I’ll just sit on the bed,
Scratching these scissors across my legs

She wrote to me telling me it’s help she needs,
She said that she cries every night and she’s weak,
I told her you just gotta try to breathe,
She said I can’t cope anymore…
And now I just bleed.

Why does everyone look so damn perfect?
I’m seventeen an I feel really nervous,
There’s a guy that I like and he might just like me back
I hope that he’ll ask me out,
I hope that he won’t even notice the scars that are drying out,
My legs are a mess and my arms look even worse,
I won’t wear a dress or short skirts,
I had a bad time these past few years,
Lost some friends and I shed some tears,
I can’t cope when things get messed up.
I try to move on but I always get stuck,i
Yet again I fall into the same mistakes,
But it feels so safe and I find release,
I guess you would never understand,
The feeling that comes with a knife in your hands.

She wrote to me telling me it’s help she needs,
She said that she cries every night and she’s weak,
I told her you just gotta try to breathe,
She said I can’t cope anymore…
And now I just bleed.

Why does everyone look so damn perfect?
It’s photoshop, airbrush merges,
I’m twenty four now I feel like I’m growing,
I still hurt but the pains not showing,
I haven’t cut for a month or two,
I try deep breathing and squeezing ice cubes,
My boyfriend loves me and tells me I’m beautiful,
I’m ashamed of what I used to do,
I try everyday just to keep getting better,
To block out the thoughts but I’m under the weather,
The pressure is building, I need a release,
I’m out of my depth and I’m feeling weak,
I’m sick of this pain and I want it to end,
My oldest enemy and my only friend,
A blade in my hand and my life in front of me,
I’m stranded between relapse and recovery,

(Lie to me…
Convince me that I’ve been sick forever,
And all of this will make sense with I get better)

She wrote to me telling me it’s help she needs,
She said that she cries every night and she’s weak,
I told her "you just gotta try to breathe",
She said "I can’t cope anymore…
And now I just bleed.
And now I just bleed.
I just bleed."